International English Language Testing System

IELTS, the International English Language Testing System, is designed to assess the language ability of candidates who want to study or work where English is the language of communication. IELTS is the world's proven test. Due to its high quality controls, IELTS is accepted by thousands of organization's in over 140 countries.

IELTS is accepted by more than 9,000 organizations worldwide. These include universities, immigration departments, government agencies, professional bodies and multinational companies.

Test Contents

There are two modules in IELTS: Academic and General Training. Candidates will be assessed in all four skills: Listening, Reading, Writing, and speaking in both modules. Candidates should check with the receiving organizations about entry requirements before deciding which module to take.

Two Types of IELTS Modules

Academic Module

The Academic Module assesses whether a candidate is ready to study or train in the medium of English at an undergraduate or postgraduate level. Admission to undergraduate and postgraduate courses in the UK, Australia, Canada or New Zealand is based on the test results.

If you wish to study using English at undergraduate or postgraduate level or are applying to nursing or medical councils, you should take the Academic Module.

General Training Module

If you are planning to undertake non-academic training or apply for immigration to Australia, Canada or New Zealand, the General Training Module is the most appropriate.

Test Structure

Candidates must complete all four sections: Listening, Reading, Writing, and Speaking to obtain an IELTS Test Report Form. The total test time is about two hours and 45 minutes.

Candidates have a choice between Academic and General Training. These modules have different Reading and Writing papers.

The first three modules - Listening, Reading and Writing - must be completed in one day. No extra time will be allowed for a break during the first three modules. The speaking test can take place within 6 days before or after the written test.

There is no pass or fail in IELTS. Scores are graded on the 9-band system. IELTS scores are valid for 2 years.